Posted in block of the week, Quilting

Moda Blockheads-Block #8

DSCN1001

Moda Blockheads block #8 is Basket of Triangles by Betsy Chutchian. The Block of the Week project is based on 6 1/2″ blocks. I started with this size but I was not happy without the outcome so I decided to make my blocks 12 1/2″. I am very happy with this decision. Although the smaller blocks posted on the Facebook page are beautiful I did not think I could complete all 48 blocks and have any sanity left. I have a deep respect for the members that love sewing small blocks and do it so well. Several ladies even make 3″ blocks using each pattern. I would be a resident at Shady Rest if I tried that. 🙂

So far I have loved each pattern and learned a lot along the way.

I am happy with my color choices but I will redo this block. I did not trim my HST and my block measures 13 1/2″.

#modablockheads